Mixing colors for swirls

Hi, I just did a small test to see if I could do some swirls when laminating. Here’s what happened: I mixed ready yellow and red colors in seperate cups, the pour the yellow into the red resin. The yellow sinks?! I try to stir it ligtly once, the pour it on the cloth. No yellow to be seen anywhere. I then try it the other way around, mix a new batch, the pour the red into the yellow. Yup, the red floats. However, this time it works out nicely on the cloth with a really small amount of red in yellow. Still it looks like red/orange was the main color after I squeegeed it. Anything like this ever happened to you? Ok, so this is epoxy resin. Would that really make a difference? regards, Håvard

Havard: I’m thinking that the pigmenting of epoxy resin and polyester resins may not be so closely related. I have NO epoxy experience. I’d first look at what types of pigments you are using, thick paste type? or thinned tints? To get the swirls you are looking for you need to get the 2nd color suspended and off the bottom of the cup. The unmixed solid colors that hit the cloth first (in conventional polyester lams) that give you the contrast you are after. Once you hit the flats and rails with the squeegee you are blending colors. Likewise the longer the mix sits in the pot the more color blending you get.I like to mix up enough of my fill color to split it into 2 pours or one big batch with several pour lines instead of a just a center pour. (the link to one I did shows 3 pour lines down the bottom to keep the yellow from turning to mud while pushing resin around) I’m waiting to hear about how this epoxy color job goes, I’ve got an opaque one to do as soon as I can figure it out. Tom S. http://www.swaylocks.com/resources/Detailed/435.html