Moving to Hawaii

Ahoy Swaylockians,

I am a 26 year old teacher and am considering moving to Hawaii to teach. I am from CT and have every intention of living in New England for the majority of my adult life but I want to experience and learn about a culture/place that is different from where I am from. I do not want to experience Hawaii as a mere tourist for a week or two. I want to immerse myself in a new place (for at least 2 years) and see what Hawaii is all about. I am extremely interested in history (I am a history teacher) and surfing history too! I have never been to Hawaii so i was wondering if any of my fellow Swaylockians, especially those who live or have lived in Hawaii, could give me any tips about where would be a good place for a guy like me to live? Any suggestions for places to consider living, teaching, and learning? I am not much of a city guy so I would prefer to be in a town or small city and I would like to be close to some good surf spots! I am an average surfer so definitely won’t be paddling out at any crazy spots when its really big. I definitely want to be in a place that I can experience true Hawaiian culture and especially Hawaiian food haha! I also am interested in continuing to shape and glass boards so if there are any connections that I could make in that department that would be amazing! Any ideas/suggestions would be great and I appreciate all of your insights and input!

Thanks again,
Owen

Owen, my wife was a math teacher@ Nanakuli Intermediate School, when we lived in Makaha. This is on the westside in the town of Waianae. Other areas of interest might be out on Kahuku Point, in Laie. Home of the Polynesian Cultural Center, and Church College. Other possibilities might be on the windward side, in Kailua. There are others here that can provide more detailed guidance. I hope you develop a taste for Sushi, as well as a taste for Poke.