Need suggestions for new longboard

Hey Guys

I’m looking to add an additional longboard to my quiver, I currently have a 8’3" standard, run of the mil longboard but I’m looking for something with a little more kick.

Ideally I’d like something that will turn, remain stable, fast and if still remains a nice wave catcher. I would like to keep it in the mid 8’ range so it fits in my bag and I can travel with it.

I’m 5’10" and 150lbs…

Any suggestions, specs, ideas would be appreciated.

thanks guys.

Josh

template suggestions would be excellent as well.

or even suggestions on how I can get the feel i’m looking for.

I’m a new board builder so I’m unsure how to get the results im looking for.

thanks again.

Josh

[quote="$1"]

Hey Guys  I'm looking to add an additional longboard to my quiver, I currently have a 8'3" standard, run of the mil longboard but I'm looking for something with a little more kick.

Ideally I'd like something that will turn, remain stable, fast and if still remains a nice wave catcher. I would like to keep it in the mid 8' range so it fits in my bag and I can travel with it.  I'm 5'10" and 150lbs...

Any suggestions, specs, ideas would be appreciated.

[/quote]

Hey Random, saw this post earlier but thought I'd let the smarter guys go first.  No one spoke up, so maybe the question is too vague?

What I would do in your shoes is look up pics of guys like Bonga Perkins or Joel Tudor, and take note of the shapes they're riding, since I think both of those guys are known as pretty progressive longboarders.  Also, a lot of the surfboard manufacturer websites have photos showing template and rocker shots, that are worth studying.  There are quite a few shapers that make longboards, and have photos on their website.

Also, don't forget Quiver, Swaylocks surfboard archives, there's a lot of good stuff there too.