new to shaping - how to get started

Hows everyone doing, I have a quick question. I have fixed a lot of boards and have finally gotten comfortable with really working with surfboards. For awhile now I have wanted to put time and effort into shapin but I keep getting very nervouse.

Basically, I am wondering if anyone has any advice on how to get started…I was gonna order a video and this and that, but I am not too sure

Any advice would be awesome…thanks

kev

Nothing to be nervous about. Watch those JC and masterglasser video’s and more then anything read as much as you can within this site. Pretty much any question you have will be answered within this site. Be patient and humble and soon enough you’ll feel in total control while your shaping.

Kevin

Trust your hands and your eye.

Go for it… just do it…don’t look back… all the catch phrases kick in.

Hello, this is my first post on your forum and I am new to shaping. Right now I have watched JC’s shaping video and I looking to start purchasing the equipment to shape. If anyone has the time I have a couple questions. I am not on a fixed budget but I am looking to purchase second hand equipment and I saw that on ebay the planars are a lot cheaper. What modifications would have to be done to make the planar adjustable to what the Skil 100 is. If anyone knows of someone selling second hand equipment I am definately interested.

Thanks

-Dan

Hi Dan,

If your new to it, and its just for casual shaping, just go with a cheapie planer from a hardware store.

I have just a basic planer i bought for $50 at a hardware store, nothing special, but when it dies i’ll just get a new one.

Maybe not worth the effort trying to hunt and modify and so on if its just for a few boards…

Cheers

A