Newbie living in the Netherlands...

Ok to kick off, I haven’t surfed a lot in my life. 2 years ago I went on my first surfcamp in France. This summer I’ll be heading to Moliets, a small village in the Biarritz area, with a surfcamp for two weeks.

I’ve been Snowboarding for 4 years now and I’d like to find a balance between snowboarding and surfing. Surfing in the summer, snowboarding in the winter (sounds pretty logical :P). So probably I’ll be surfing a lot the next couple of summers. I’ll probably go to the north coast of Spain or somewhere in the neighborhood since I’m Spanish. Therefore I’ll need to have a board. I COULD try to get my hands on a cheap second-hand board BUT, It seems more fun to me to make one myself.

One problem: I live in the Netherlands, and an hour away from the ocean. What does that mean? Sloppy waves and not more than 40 surfeable days per year. Also I’m 17 so I don’t have a driver license (You can’t get one here in Europe till you’re 18). That means there are almost NO (professional) shapers in the Netherlands.

I’d like to get my hands on making surfboards though. I’ve been reading the swaylocks forums for a week now, and I’m really getting pumped about it. I’m pretty confident about the shaping; For an aerodynamics project at school we had to make large scale wings out of foam. So I’m not totally starting from scratch.

What I fear most to do wrong is the Fibreglassing. I haven’t done it before and I’ll have to see how that turns out.

I’m planning to get “Shaping 101” and “Glassing 101” from JC, and I’ve also read “Surfboard Design and Costruction”. The only thing that I don’t really get yet are the fins. What’s the advantage of removable fins over fixed fins or vice versa? When should you use fixed fins and when not? I hope this is highlighted in Shaping 101 or Glassing 101, coz it’s still a bit unclear for me.