OK, I Messed Up

All right.  I'm a newbie glassing my first longboard and messed up the lam colors pretty bad.  I guess it wasn't good to try to do a lime green and white opaque pigment separation my first time out!  There is no way I want to leave it the way it is. 

What do I do? 

1) Do a colored hotcoat.

2) Acrylic paint on the hotcoat. Because I have to do most of the surface of the board, would the gloss coat stick?

3) Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

JK

got any pics?  whats the problem? 

No pics (I don't know how to upload pics to the site).  It looks like crap.  I really muddied the whole thing and want to try to "start again". 

Hard to comment without pictures.  You really need to get some pics up, if you're going to ask for help with color problems (or really almost any problems).  This has been up for 7 hours - I guarantee if you had some good pics, you'd have a half dozen good responses, and probably as many worthless ones, with some arguments insults and a pint of braggadoccio thrown in for good measure.  No pics, and you get me.  Can you post pics to flickr or picasa or something, and then just give us a link?

This happened top and bottom?  You were going for a swirl type effect, and it turned to mud?  I can't even picture lime green and white coming out to mud color, but without pics I'll have to take your word for it.  Was it a green tint (transparent) or an opaque green pigment?

You could add pigment to the hot coat, and see what happens.  You know that it won't color as well as the lam coat, and it will sand thru easily.

If its just the bottom, then when you do the top, you could go with a darker opaque, or just darken the resin up where it drips over the rail - and then do a cut lap with a pin line.  Maybe a tail patch with the same.  Then the muddy part will just be background, and might not look so bad after all.