Patagonia vs. Xcel wetsuits

I’m looking at getting a patagonia r3 or a 3.2 xcel drylock wetsuit for the cold san diego mornings. anyone have a recomendation or experience with either? both that im looking at are used. any input is appreciated! 

A Patagonia R3 would be more like a 4/3 in other brands. 

also would either of these be warm enough in central or Northern California if paired with a hood? 

sure you wanna get a used wetsuit?

as already mentioned, patagonia’s equivalent of a 3/2 would be the r2 with 3.5mm. I actually have that one (the newer one) and my last surf was in france in december and I was fine. 

yep can’t a afford a new one. so for the same price you’d recommend a Patagonia? 

Patagonia are really heavy and stiff, and only really warm when new

I have no experience with xcel so I can only tell you that I really like my R2. I used to have rip curl, put ~4 months in my patagonia now, it holds up really well. 

All the things that people say about them (not flexy, stiff, heavy, leaky seams) are certainly not true about mine. I gues that used to be an issue with the old merino lined ones. Or I’m just lucky. 

Fit is pretty important though, have you tried on either?

Pategonia…overpriced.

Xcel was cutting edge 10 years ago but the other manufacturers have passed them by.  I also think my Xcel suits are overly heavy when wet by today’s standards.

Its hard to beat RipCurl and Oniell these days.  Buy what fits the best.

Thanks! yeah I was wondering if the heaviness was only due to the wool which I’m pretty sure the new suits don’t have. I’m 6’3" and skinny, so I need a MT in almost every brand 

But what if I could an r3 for a decent price? Rip curls don’t seem to fit me right, and I have a few oneills that were definitely warm, but didn’t hold up.