Pinched rails on 8'er

I’m thinking of doing an 8’er, wide and flat rockered single for gliding fun on smaller days, maybe trying some steps towards the nose, but also something that will turn when I ask it to. For an outline, I’m planning on something much like balsa’s grey board:

Probably pretty wide, 22.5 or so. I normally do all my boards with fairly down rails, and I’m wanting to try some more pinched out rails for this one.

First question, would the more pinched out, higher apex rails better suit that kind of board and riding conditions? Second,I’ve never done this kind of rail before, and I’m actually looking for some kind of graphic guidance. I have kind of (crudely) sketched what I’m thinking about on the left side of this image, and then an equally crude sketch of my typical rails on the other.

Looking at this image, what would be your impressions of the riding qualities of rails like this? What would improve them for the glide/paddle/hold,turnability?

Or is it as simple as, if I like down rails on my other boards, then I’ll like them on a minitanker as well?

Quote:

I’m thinking of doing an 8’er, wide and flat rockered single for gliding fun on smaller days, maybe trying some steps towards the nose, but also something that will turn when I ask it to. For an outline, I’m planning on something much like balsa’s grey board:

Probably pretty wide, 22.5 or so. I normally do all my boards with fairly down rails, and I’m wanting to try some more pinched out rails for this one.

First question, would the more pinched out, higher apex rails better suit that kind of board and riding conditions? Second,I’ve never done this kind of rail before, and I’m actually looking for some kind of graphic guidance. I have kind of (crudely) sketched what I’m thinking about on the left side of this image, and then an equally crude sketch of my typical rails on the other.