Pre shaped blanks vs standard blanks

Hey,

I am an absolute newbie to shaping, going to try and shape my first board soon.
I am wondering, with a pre shaped (machine cut) blank, what do I actually need to do to it before glassing?

Is a pre shaped blank just the outline, and I still need to shape the rails/add in any concave/rocker etc?
Should I go with a pre shaped blank for my first board, or just get a standard blank?

Any help would be great!

Thanks

Depends on what kind of experience you are looking for. A precut blank leaves little to screw up. Its basically all there, just smooth it out, clean it up and glass it. A real blank will allow you the full experience of a true hand shape. You will be forced to consider all aspects of board building, from the rocker and outline to rails, bottom concave and final sanding. Takes much longer and will require more tools. But remember, with a pre cut blank, you didnt shape it, a machine did. So dont take any credit like you created some masterpiece.

You have a lot more studying to do. Getting a blank milled for you is NOT shaping. Try to find a real shaper and ask if you can watch. Go to You tube and pour over all the shaping videos you can. Offer to sweep up and help out to watch and learn the process. What you are asking is the same as saying I don’t know how to drive but should I get a Ferrari or semi truck anyway? Figure out what you want to surf on to match your area’s waves and what will work for you. Start from the BEGINNING. Learn HOW and WHY before you start. Simply sanding a milled blank will get you a board but you won’t be much farther along in being able to make your own boards. Crawl,Walk…Run.