proper fcs fin plug installation on balsa surfboard

Hey

I´ve made a couple of wood surfboards in the last few months.
It was a learning through experience in every step of shaping/glassing a surfboard (with a good amount of support from you, good people).
As I like retro shapes, I wanted to learn how to make glass-on fins, so I have no experience on installing fin plugs.

I know that you have to lightly reach the deck lamination to create a stronger anchorage when drilling a fcs plug hole.

Is this necessary when installing fcs fin plugs on balsa or agave surfboards?

here goes a pic of my second board

thanks to all!

I don’t think so, density of balsa being much greater than foam’s. Now, if I were you, I would use the FCS “Fusion” plugs because they have much more glueing surface than the old round plugs.

Hi Balsa,
good to know, thanks

I would definetly like to give it a go at those fcs fusion. I was thinking on the old fcs round plugs because it seemed to me installation was easier.
I´ll see that

thanks again

As long as the wood is solid, you should be OK with the older round plugs. I like them because they are easy to install, but I don’t use them much because I really like the Probox system.

would you say those are the easiest ones to install?
futures and fusion are a bit more complicated from what I see on videos…

I’d say yes, because you only need a hole cutting drill bit.
Futures and Fusion boxes go in before you laminate the board. They usually need a special router jig, but you could make something for futures. These were designed to be stronger, but a good installation of older FCS plugs is pretty strong.