Proper fish dimenions?

Hey guys I’m new to the forum and I had a few question about what dimensions I should use for my fish. My friends and I just purchases some Fish blanks and all the stuff needed to shape the boards a few weeks ago, and we are ready to start shaping. Problem is we aren’t sure what would be the best dimensions.

The blanks are 6’5 USA foam. I’m 6’3 and 180, Probably going to grow outward some in the coming years and am wondering what dimensions would be best… (detailed descriptions would be greatly appreciated considering this is my first time ever shaping a board.

Thanks a lot guys and sorry about the redundancy of the request. I didn’t find anything very close to what I was looking for in the archives.

-jake

Kinda need your age, experience, strength, style, aims, where are you surfing

Because the youngster slash-and-burn types all say go super-short, like eyebrow-level to start, and they like them narrower and thinner too. SKip Frye rides them in San Diego as mid-lengths. The waves here on the Gulf of Mex are pretty weak, when there are any, so I would be smart to go up from there. (I’m not.)

So your question has a few variables to factor.

jcole,

Janklow ask the right questions. That being said, most ride them 4 to 6 inches than their standard shortboard. Others say no higher than your forehead. A lot say anything over six foot isn’t a fish. Who cares what everyone says? I’m stoked you guys are building your own. They are fun boards for small, hollow waves. Easy to ride. I found I can ride a fish shorter than I thought, but got that nice fishy ride in everything from 6-6 down to a 5-8. I’m 5-9, 175, 49 years old. Mike

Check this link http://www.swaylocks.com/resources/detail_page.cgi?ID=1951k

Search Shipman ,shipman surfboards, Tamarack trash can fish. Try Shipmansurfboards.com ,hopefully it’s still there.

For your body size I would go 2 5/8 or 2 3/4. Depends on style and ability. Ask Rooster more questions ,He’s the fish guy !