Question about film edit, cameras and etc.

I am working on a half hour documentary.  Here is what I have to work with so far and I was hoping some of you know something about this to make some recommendations. 

what I have

IMAC quad core i7, HP Quad core i5, T2i canon, H4N recorder, Kodak Zi8.

Things I am looking into:  A higher end or additional video camcorder possibly the canon Hv40 or maybe a higher end???  types of microphones, lens, Final Cut pro or express. I already have Sony Vegas and I am familiar with it, but wanted one of the other two.

Just the basics…not the ideal is what I am looking for. 

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I’ve been working in TV and corporate video since 1976. I started when everything was shot on film and have worked through the early video years up to what we have today.

How much are you willing to spend?

A good video camera with a 20x lens, a decent tripod, wireless lav mic system, external short shotgun mic would be close to $4000 or $5000. Good lights and other production stuff like HD monitors can be just as much.

I like Sennheiser mics. For High Def, I use a Panasonic GH-1 and a Sony HXR-NX5U cameras, Sennheiser G2 ENG wireless system with body packs and a hand mic transmitters. I prefer recording the audio and video with one device not 2, so a real video camera is better for monitoring what you record. The Canon, Sony and Panasonic 35mm cameras that shoot HD video are really nice, but they don’t have good live monitoring. If you don’t know what you’re doing it can mess you up. For DV, I use a small Panasonic 3CCD camera and big professional Sony 3CCD cameras. I just got a Manfrotto tripod for $350, and it’s real nice for the smaller HD cameras. The sachtler I have costs several thousand.