question about retro fish

Hi everyone

New to shaping I would like to shape my own retro fish, I have looked around the data base but I am kind of lost with all the design, rail shapes…

My question is about the rails, what kind of rails does a retro fish need.

50/50 at the nose, 60/40 mid section the last 1/3 of the board (tail section) will be a hard rail.

What about the section of the rails, I need to consider them as boxy, rounded rails?

What about the shaping of the swallow tail.

Do I have to start the shaping process of the rails before shaping the tail or the other way round?

I have checked the pdf file showing the Steve Lis design where the rails section are shown but I am kind of lost.

I don’t know how to handle the bevels, I know how to draw the lines with the marking gauge but how many bevels should I have for the bottom and deck?

Regarding the bottom do I need tucked under edge rails?

I am a rookie and I am aware the answers are to be found right here in the data base but I am kind of lost since there are so many things to consider.

If you feel like helping me out thanks for doing so.

Im only quite new to this myself ( i’ve shaped 3 boards, second one a retro style fish ), but dont get too hung up about numbers. My rails on my fish are boxy, in fact even a little too square, but i ride it almost every surf and love it to death, it works fine. As far as rails bands, honestly, i do one, that’s it. I mark on the flat rail how high up i want the rail to be, then on the deck, i mark where i want the rail to end. Then i just join those two lines. Might not look like a pro job, but it works fine i find.

Anyway, again, im very inexperienced, so take that into account when considering my advice.

…the old fishes doesnt have 60 40s rails

they re down rails

but I tell ya that is better to do a fish than an old type