Rail Band Tools

Not sure if my proceeding example is the best way to achieve a good rail band, or it’s of any interest to anyone but I’m a novice shaper so here goes. First of all Fred. If you’re not sure of what Fred is/does then the best advice I can give you on that one is to watch Shaping 101. Fred’s shortcoming to me is the fact that the angle of the surform is set, you can’t adjust it, which maybe why John Carper only uses it for tucking edges under. Next pinheads railband tool. First of all, thanks pinhead for demonstrating this, it would of taken a lot longer to figure out how to make my own rail band tool without your example. The shortcoming I have with this tool is it’s width. Or lack of it in my opinion. If you have a narrower railband tool and you run it around the permiter of the board it follows that perimiter quite closely. The result for me is the railbands width doesn’t taper out at the nose and tail end, and is more uniform in width I find. With a longer tool, as the board curves away (as you run your rail band tool towards either end) the tool tends to go in more of straight line and the railbands width tapers out (gets thinner).