Rail Coanda effect

What profile does the forward rails of a longboard need to have to prevent being “sucked” into the wave face by what is referred to as a “coanda” effect instead of being lifted/pushed out from the wave face (a planing effect): thin (pinched); rounded; flat(squarish); short radius from bottom up to apex and larger radius above apex to deck, or the opposite; a chine. The problem occurs mostly when (slight) angle paddling onto a wave or just after being picked up by the wave with the forward rail penetrating the wave, and just before the pop-up.

I’m no expert, but my understanding of the Coanda effect is that flowing water follows curves, leading to a force down towards the water. Usually, people talk about hard vs soft rails, with a soft rail (like the 50/50 on a classic log) providing more hold, and a hard rail ( like the rail near the tail on most high performance board) providing less drag. So, I suspect the more gradual the curve, or the softer the rails, the more hold you get.

So, for your question, I’d think you would put hard rails near the nose, as well as the tail… the Greek in Huntington Beach does that on his shorty model, the downside I’ve heard of is it can make the board trickier to ride… the theory on that I think is that if the nose touches the water it’ll slice in easily, which makes some sense to me… I suspect rail volume/ buoyancy could be introduced to counteract that tendency.

I hope that helps, and if I’m wrong I hope someone corrects me :slight_smile:

The Coanda Effect occurs because of the low pressure created when a rapidly moving fluid stream/jet flows over a (convex) curved surface.
Think of rail profile as the leading edge of a wing (foil) profile.

Thanks TeeK for the reply.