resin color problems

hey, this is my first time doing colored resin and i knew it wasnt ging ot turn out perfect. i mixed up some dark red and it looked fine but when i started laminating the resin came out dark pink. im thinking it didnt have enough color? to fix this would i use some colored lam. resin after the hotcoat or could i use gloss resin so it doesnt add a lot of extra weight? the board doesnt look too bad but kind of girly. Thanks guys

its hard to get color even on a hotcoat…and why put lam on top of hotcoat…you can color the hotcoat but is gonna look a little weird…i had the same thing happen with red ,it looked very dark in the bucket, like blood,but when it hit the foam it lookes a little pink…the best thing to do is have a piece of scrap foam…and just keep testing on that till the colors right(no need for hardner)…next time anyway…i then you wont be suprised the colors different…

Your screwed if you want a darker color. Once it hits the foam it’s over. Next time you mix up a batch of color and you think is dark enough, put in twice that amount. If your looking to do a dark tint, let’s say Blood Red or Dark Blue, get some opaque colorant and add that color to the tint, but just a smidge. If I’m doing a nice Royal Blue tint I’ll add about almost 1 1/2 oz of tint to a quart. If your buying those little squeeze dropper bottles of tint, thats about 4 little ones or 2 of the bigger ones, you’d be shocked how much tint it takes to get a really vibrant color.

Tints have changed over the years. I’ve got some tints that were from the early 70’s, Emerald Greens, Violets, Turquoise etc. All it takes to make a batch of that is about 1/2 oz per qt. With all the EPA stuff, it’s beter for the environment but it’s hard to get good colors, and the tint nowadays will fade in a few months.