Resin panel problem

Ahoy swaylockians. I’m working on my Windansea special thanks to Bill Thrailkill! I started the white resin panels. I’ve never done full resin panels before and am having problems with the resin sheeting on the rails. I used my normal glossing technique and have never had this problem before. What may be the cause of this? More importantly is there any way to fix this without sanding off the whole panel and starting over? I did as much research as humanly possible on resin panels before starting this. Thanks for the help swaybros! Other than this issue I’m pumped on how the board is coming out. Many thanks to Bill Thrailkill, WideAwake, and Dave Town for all your help and inspiration!

Sorry that the photos are sideways. I will try to figure out how to fix that

Resin is thick (heavy) and taking too long to kick.

Rail wrap is tricky. Load it with pigment and kick it HOT. 10minute kick time would be ideal. I know some guys who drop in some cobalt but that can be another nightmare if not done correctly.

Sand the hotcoat so it’s dead flat smooth.

I find it best to use gloss resin for panels (some use hotcoat resin)

A spot fix on those would be tricky too. You’ll most likely see your different color mixes on white.

Someone else may have some better tricks or contradictory info and it works for them. I do what works for me.

Resized pics to 25%

Thanks for the advice. I had a feeling that was gonna be a hard thing to fix. Maybe I will sand the whole thing off and do some panels that don’t wrap the rail. I’m just surprised because I’ve never had this problem with gloss coats. Does adding pigment to resin make it a lot less stable or something?

Thanks for the help with the pics j randy

Adding pigment will slow the time it takes to kick hence your problem with draping on the rails and if you add a lot of pigment the surface will feel tacky for a looong time

Never had an issue with tacky panels.

What are you using for resin?