shaping eps take - 2

Questions about eps - if I use 2.5# , which has been called similiar to superlight , does that mean that the density and also the weight are similiar, and in turn the buoyancy similiar. If so that would seem to indicate that if I make a 6’2" with the same stringer, shape and with the same (4x4,4) glassing(but with epoxy resin) the board should float similiar and flex similiar to a board recently made from a 6’3"r with pu resin ?? If I make the transition I don’t want all the new learning to result in a reject board.I see this as a big deal cause none of us want to go backwards. Ideally at this point I think we (I) could benefit from an indepth guide to using eps and epoxy. - especially with regards to the performance of the board. I believe it would be an easier transition if we could start by being able to get close to the performance of pu for starters. We can always innovate from there.

It should be pretty close. But, I’m no shortboard expert.

I would suggest you get 2-3 blanks. They’re cheap, 3 should cost you less than $100. Get a 1.5 gallon kit of RR - also $100 or so. Use a wet-out table or fold up your cloth to wet it out, and even if you’re just getting started with epoxy, 1.5 gallons should net you 3 shortboards. Your lams will be nice & tight because of the longer work time and you can hotcoat thin by warming the resin. Then just sand & surf em. You probably already have some glass & fins, but if not $200 more should get you enough 4 oz & glassons. So for $400 max, you can do 3 shapes.

To start, I would certainly suggest you keep the same rockers you’ve been using. Keep the same templates.

Make one just like your normal board. Make another one, but maybe 1/4" thinner. Make the third both thinner & with the reverse-outined Bert style bit at the tail. Surf all 3 & let your friends do the same.

I mean, we’re talking about feedback in less than a week. And you’ll immediately be more of an expert than anyone else you know.