Shaping full Time ??

Hi all

Who of you out there make a living out of surfboard manufacturing?

How old were you when you started?

What do you find most negative/positive about board building?

Keep well

1978, 28yrs old. Made the mental leap from the garage to…

The “creative” aspects of board building is what hooked me.

“Business people” who take advantage of “creative people” is what bugs me.

Do you have any tips for a guy that will be starting out.

i have been making boards on and off for the last 15 years and have decided to take the big leap of faith next year and to do if full time at the age of 35(hope its not too old)

What attracts me to it is the creative side of making a board, the science of it and it brings me closer to nature.

Dont have any gripes yet but maybe 1.5 years from now I will revisit this thread and update it.

where are you going to setup?

as a lot of new shapers get grief in the uk from existing brands!

If you have a “real” job keep it! I should write a book about this surfboard biz. Gotta wait till a few people die. The 'Illusion" of the surf industry and the reality are two very different things. I used to shape boards for BING and he told me “There is a fine line between production and art”. Worked for me.

I am going to go back to South Africa and do it out of there. My home town (Still Bay) has good point breaks and no local shaper. I am working this year to save so I don’t need to rely on a fledgling business for the first year. I recon I am going to get a bit of grief there as well from the SA shapers but the closest one is 45 minutes away. If it fails then the worst that can happen is I move to Cape town and go back into the same line of work I am now. I would like to approach it more like a business.

Feel free to shoot holes in my plan!

Follow your dreams, we’re all here for only a short visit. Good luck and don’t let anyone discourage you.

Hi Swifty,