Single concave and Rocker.

Hello everyone,

I have attached a photo with three masterpieces showing some single concave drawn onto a board (rocker view).

theoretical question: (and assuming the length of the single concave cant be increased.)

1). would the limit of single concave depth be where the rocker would become flat? (middle picture)
2). anyone ever done concave so deep it inverted the rocker curve? (third picture)
3). how I assumed single concave was shape, maintaining a smooth rocker curve only flatter than the rail rocker. is this correct (first picture)

how should single concave look when shaped into a board (rocker view)

My main thought is: In the most general of ways, concave is “usually” towards/in the rear - at least through the fins - and, as I think about some of the hpsb’s I’ve looked at lately, some concaves seem to run about the full length. Mostly like drawing #1.

I’m not an expert, but I think, you are answering the wrong questions. The first question you should ask, or answer if you already know, what do you want the board to do and do I need a concave for it and the then following, how should this concave be designed.
As far as I know the purpose of a concave is to lift the board while speeding. So if you want a noserider you put the concave in the front. If you ride your board from the tail and want to decrease water resistance, you put the concave(s) in the tail. A concave in the middle section should lift the board evenly, but front and tail, if convex will work against it. So finally your concave needs to be designed, for your objectives. And if you flatten the rocker, you will get other parameters coming into play. As far as I understand the science behind it, the flatter the rocker or even concave rocker) will decrease manouverability or turning capacity, but will increase paddling speed.