single fin question

I’ve been asked to make a surfboard for my little sisters birthday. I’ve decided to use this opportunity to experiment a little bit.

She’s a total beginner so I’m thinking of making a 7’0" * 20 3/4" egg shaped board with a pin / rounded pin tail. I plan install a fin box for a large single fin (7")

Question -

Can anybody advice me on how far forward I should install the fin box. I want a 50:50 compromise between drive and manoeverability.

What type of bottom contours work good with a large single fin.

Any advice would be really appreciated

Brian

Hey Brain,

I think you’ve make a good choice on the outline shape and width as long at it will float her real well.

I think a full Bahne Box that starts about 4.0" from the tail ought to work pretty well. That’ll give you plenty of room to dial the single in. A 7.0" to 7.75" fin has a nice generous tip will give the board a little more lateral stability while she’s learning to stand up. You can always move the fin forward to make the board turn more easily.

My thoughts on the shape are these: Keep it simple. Flat bottom to about 2.5 feet from the tail and then introduce a very subtle vee that gradually increases into the tail but don’t make it very steep at all or the board will want to run too deep in the tail. Make the rocker moderate and continous. it will turn more easily as a result. The rails should be about 60/40 and not too boxy. Make the board about 2.75" - 3.0" thick and keep some thinkness in the tail. I would keep the lines of the tail full as well and make it about 14.5" wide.

I commend you on the project. Your little sister is gonna love it.

Mahalo, Rich

Hey Rich, what would happen if you made this same board, but put a very light single conave in at the point where you suggested starting the vee (~2.5 ft from tail)? If you did this, where would you turn that concave into a vee to exit the tail (anterior or posterior to the fin box?)?