spokeshave problems

hi,

i’ve been successful at adjusting and planing with other hand planes that i have, but i’m having the most trouble with the spokeshave in the nose/flip area. the spokeshave is brand new (purchased from foamez.com). it just seems to grind along, not actually cutting/shaving. i’ve tried planing in both tail-nose and nose-tail directions, still no luck. the blade is brand new and should be sharp, no? am i supposed to sharpen it? i’m worried that i’ll just f*** up a new blade if i do.

also, i noticed that the blade is a hair too wide for the slot in the spokeshave such that when i tighten down the screw that holds the blade, the blade bends slightly. is this part of my problem? the blade should fit flush/flat, no?

btw, i’m very new to all of this, so maybe i just need to practice and find the right “touch”.

advice?

Post a pic of the offending tool

I don’t want to hazard the guess that the blade comes screwed in backwards for your safety, but without a pic…

:wink:

Or maybe there is just “too much” blade? Anyway, blades that are just out of the factory usually need to be fine-tuned.

It will definitely need honing. Usual mistake with spokeshaves is to have too much blade exposed.

And here’s a big mistake ALL my students make at least once. Putting the blade in upsidedown. The bevel edge of the blade should be down, if it is up the cut is too coarse, you will get “juddering” and life will be misery!!

eek! bevel edge down??? as in, the bevel edge being on the side opposite the screwhead?

take a look at this picture. it appears that the beveled side is on the outside, the side with the screwhead. is this blade positioning incorrect or correct? this is how mine is set up.

http://www.foamez.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_24&products_id=156

i will sharpen the blade, what is the easiest way to accomplish this?

Quote:

eek! bevel edge down??? as in, the bevel edge being on the side opposite the screwhead?