SunCure UV Resin-use in BYB shop

Looking seriously at moving towards SunCure additives to all my Silmar resin use where possible. I’d rather rig up something other than those “rolling tubes” to handle longer boards and to avoid the space they take up. Anyone using this system that can comment on their setups. Why can’t you use a hanging drop of say 4 eight footers overhead and banks or side mounted ones instead of the rolling tube. Thanks for any ideas. Tom Sterne

I have some experience in lighting. If I were going to UV expose surfboards on a regular basis, I would consider non-color corrected High Output (HO) neon flourescent bulbs with appropriate ballast setup. These are the cheapest HO bulbs available. You get more lumens per watt with flourescent than any other practical light source. The tanning bed suppliers have bulbs which they claim are UV optimized, but they are more expensive than the industrial HO type. All neon flourescent lights emit lots of UV unless you convert it. I’d like to compare spectral curves between the two. I’ll bet there isn’t ten percent difference in UV output. Another strong, but slightly less energy efficient, source of UV light comes from mercury vapor (MV) lights. You can buy the 175 watt variety from the builder supply store pretty cheap. Again though, get the non-color corrected variety. MV lights have a point light source. MV won’t surround the board with UV like flourescent will. But If you could mount 4 MV flood lights at the corners of your curing room ceiling, you could turn them on, and expose a board without moving anything.