SUP paddleboard design?

Hi All

New to Swaylocks… I’m stuck in upstate NY for at least the next 2 years, and I’ve been going through major surfing withdrawl (6-7 hours to the nearest break, if the stars align and there is swell when I can leave work). I’ve dealt with it so far by building boards (2 hollow wood so far, 6’ Lis fish, and 8’ funshape—pics soon), but I need to get back in the water. As I do have a rather large lake in my backyard, I’m looking to build a SUP (and maybe a log for knee paddling) for mostly flatwater paddling, though it would be great if it could be a passable occasional surfing board as well. I’m 190, 6’2".

As I don’t have any boards around to reference and I’m still a major newbie to shaping–I’d love some recommendations on planshape, rocker, rails and thicknesses so I can get something in the water before the snow!

thanks!

Aloha Cycloxslug:

A board from 10 -10'6"  with 18-19" nose x 29" wide x 18" tail x 4.5 -4.75" thick should work.  As far as plane shapes, check out the boards at www.paddlesurfhawaii.com.  The 10-6 and 11 are popular models. Search SUPs by Carvenalu here.  He shared so much information and built a business from his passion.  He is one of the leading SUP designers that created Paddle Surf Hawaii.

I built around seven SUPs and I am working on a 10 footer for my daughter now.  I basically use the SUP when the surf is flat or really small.  When the waves are up I normally use a long board, funboard or fish board. 

I started with a 12' SUP and now I can paddle a 5" thick 10 ft. board.  I am about 250lbs.  I did post some of my boards here. Search for mexican blanket SUP or balsa skinned SUP.

Enjoy,

D

Lake SUP is a whole different animal than a ocean craft.

Paddling power and core work out are key,

12'0" x 30" x 4 3/4" keep it stable and paddle your brains out.