Surf Music!

Hi Swaylockers,

I am new to the swaylocking community, and was wondering If anyone could give me some input. Im writing a University Dissertation on Surf Music, not a paid project or anything. Basically a lot of people say surf music only was big between 1961-66 but my project is basically going to express how surf music has been here all along since the ancient hawaiians - in terms of music thats influenced by surfing or the surf, as oppose to the music that appropriates Surfing (Beach Boys) for capitalist gain. I was wondering if Anyone had any input about what they consider to be surf music from 66 all the way through to now, even just as a starting point for research. Im basically looking for music that was influenced by surf culture, music that was sonic representation of surfing like Dick Dale, but kind of in a different period. ALso any good surf clips you anyone can recommend through the 60s, 70s, and 80s that i can look at the tunes from.

Thanks in advance everyone,

Leon

You would be better suited asking your question over at this site:  http://surfguitar101.com/forums/  

Contemporary surf music:

The Mermen

For me personally…

old kine

hawaiian apres surf music - any kiho 'alu(I prefer Sonny Chiilingsworth’s or Dennis Kamakahi’s style), ukulele (beach boy style)

Antonio Carlo Jobim

modern kine

Soundtrack to “Five Summer Stories” - Honk

Tom Curren/J-Bay The Search Footage - “War” by Joe Satriani

Soundtrack to “Hot Buttered Soul - The Movie” - Whitehorse

I’ve always felt this album reminded me of all different aspects of surfing (psyching before paddling out, big waves, small waves, apres surf)

Eric Johnson - Ah Via Musicom

never got into Dick Dale (felt too spaz), reminded me of a californianized Les Paul or Django Reinhardt.

beach boys/jan and dean/the champs/ventures were only for those gidget and tony & antoinette movies but didn’t anything to do with surfing