surfing on Molokai

Last weekend we finished are big fundraiser-fiesta to support local charities. The grand prize lottery is a trip for two to Molokai for a week. Well, guess who won this year? Me. Obviously, I’m pretty damned stoked. I have to take the trip in the next year. I’m a teacher and get two weeks off in October, 2 in December, and 2 in March. I probably could not get it together for the October break. Does anyone have any information they would share with me concerning surfing and seasons on Molokai? My wife enjoys swimming and snorkeling as do I. Information concerning this and other activities would be nice, too. I understand completely anyone wanting to keep their surf spots ‘under their hats.’ Mike

Donald Takayama has a house on Molokai, he talks of a very good break

Rooster----------Look for a PM from me later. McDing

I lived two doors from Pauhana in right down the road from Kaunakakai warf back in 1970 when I was 15. Facing the ocean, we caught some good waves when there was a decent south east swell at the warf. The water was pretty sharky back then because of the pineapple barges would load there. The west side have a few good breaks in the fall and winter. The east side has a few good breaks like Pohakuloa Point , Moomomi and Kepuhui Beach.

It’s been over 30 years since I surfed there but I remember a few great breaks and always seeing sharks. Back then, the road to the east side was only one lane.

Boy this is taking me back!

D

I have a friend who goes there often to surf. Be very mellow and low key. Don’t show up with a bunch of guys (I guess it’s just you, though) You will be an unwelcome and uninvited guest. Remember that at all times. People there are protective of their home, and their waves in particular. Never been, but I hear that it goes off if you know where and when. Best of luck. If you encounter friendly locals, wouldn’t hurt to leave a board or two, rather than paying to fly them home.