tail block advice?

Thinking about doing a tail block and I’ve never done one before. All I know is you just chop the foam off and resin the wood on. Any advice or caution I should know about? Does regular sanding resin work okay? I’m thinking about using solid teak or mahogany but don’t know exactly how big a piece I’ll need (is 3"x6" enough for a 6" butt?). Or should I even bother with a tail block? Thanks…By the way, thanks for the “V” advice Jim…

Thinking about doing a tail block and I’ve never done one before. All I > know is you just chop the foam off and resin the wood on. Any advice or > caution I should know about? Does regular sanding resin work okay? I’m > thinking about using solid teak or mahogany but don’t know exactly how big > a piece I’ll need (is 3"x6" enough for a 6" butt?). Or > should I even bother with a tail block? Thanks…By the way, thanks for > the “V” advice Jim… I think Jim (phillips) is your tail block man to, he made the most beautiful tail and nose (not wood) on my board. He used glas en resin like fins are made, made a model of the nose and tail curve than glassed a lot of layers in this curve, than sanded this so it would fit and glassed the board. This is no square block kind of thing but it follows the railshape and thins out about 7" from the nose and tail. (the board is a pintail). I’m shure Jim can explain what he did ten times better than I do. Peter Rijk