Talk is cheap...

… and great ideas are a dime a dozen.

But what about those in which you actually invested personal time and money? The results? What did you learn?

Invested T & M in: That whole hollow surfboard thing…

Results: Good equipment…Expanding others equipment horizons…

Learned: So, so much…About my motivations…my skills…how to build a web site…how what I’ve done has helped people…what makes Swaylocks unique…all that and much more, leading to other esoteric offshoots…

And it just keeps on going…

Well, I’ve been very fortunate to be in a position where we make concepts into reality in my last three jobs. I managed a boat yard that specialized in prepping offshore racing sail boats and high end cruisers. So, I got to be intimately involved in several incredible restorations. Then I worked as a quality control manager at a large powerboat facility. Not as much fun. But, still involved in making dreams realities. And, now I design and manufacture custom plastic components. Now I get to see the results of our work all over the world. And, been involved in the development of cancer diagnosis apparatus. Talk about reaching out and touching someone.

I’ve had lots of good ideas that I’ve invested time and money, in surfing and out of surfing and what I learned was there is a step in developing something that gets little air time; Do you have the balls to put it out there? I’ve shaped about 20 surfboards, most of them experimental. Some worked some didn’t but they were all pretty useless because I never documented any of them or put them out for others to evaluate. Not that there was a forum for that kind of stuff back then but I just worked in my little corner for my own amusement…BFD.