Technology and Resistance to Innovation

Hi, I’ve occasionally glanced at the forum over the years, but here’s my first post.

Let me introduce myself; my name is Darrell, I’m a mechanical engineer and I’ve been surfing for about 30 years now. I worked at the Channel Islands factory about 15-20 years ago and had the pleasure of helping them get their first milling machine up and running along with helping Al and the team “digitize” their shape portfolio. But the best part was helping different team riders develop their own boards and models. One memorable project was the deep-six project with Kelly. Since then I’ve moved to Switzerland and persued a career in eingineering. I also don’t get to surf nearly enough.

So the point of my thread is actually to discuss what developments and innovations have been made in surfing and why most of them don’t leave the ground. My experience has involved the shape, but not so much the construction methods. From my perspective there are two camps; the craftspeople and the industrialists. And I think both are creative and innovative. There are probably thousands of small craftsmen trying new techniques, but I suppose most of these ideas are not economically viable for the large scale production. On the other hand technology like Tuflite for example is possible to mass produce and offers advantages in quality and durability. So why doesn’t Surftech dominate the global market? I feel they have been able to hold down a niche market share. I also think the reason why their growth is limited, is because customization with their method is costly and because a good deal of surfers have stigmatized pop-out surfboards.

Over the years, the only advancement which has been widely accepted is the use of cnc machines and the use of eps with a divergence from the wooden stringer but instead a touch of carbon or composite stiffener materials.