The Dangers of Polyester Resin???

I’ve been using it for a while now in my garage.

I don’t fully understand all of the dangers of it…

Could some of you guys that have some info on it post it?

Is it ok to inhale the left over fumes in your glassing area after you’ve used it and the resin has cured??

Also if it touches your skin what could potentially happen? It usually just burns me pretty bab and then the burn goes away…

I really want to continue using polyester resin but just don’t want to end up with cancer or something in 10 years from now!!

Could someone tell me the proper way in which to protect yourself from Poly resin??

Thank you, I really appreciate your response.

Ok, so nobody’s touchin’ this right now. Loaded topic lately. Plus, there are lots of fairly recent threads in the archives that contain hazmat references and other information that will answer your questions. Good hunting.

well i’m no doctor…if it burns when it gets on you? thats a chemical burn… that later( 1 week) could turn into a nasty sore…MEK it perhaps the most nasty of all…acetone go into you blood stream instantly…BAD…if there are fumes left over then yea they are BAD too…some peoples may get cancers from this over time… some wont, its like rolling the dice lots of old timers are still alive …i don’t think there are any cases of death by exposure to poly? like anything use your head …this is a rediculous question maybe you have already exposed yourself too much…just make good judgment… stop being american…think for one self and use common sense

not to rip into ya, man…but you REALLY didn’t do your homework. you’re playing with some potentially nasty stuff. ya don’t give a 6-yr-old a gallon of napalm and matchbook, do ya?!

1. the fumes - WEAR A RESPIRATOR!!! ALL THE TIME!!! if you can smell the fumes, then your respirator isn’t working or you aren’t wearing it. in the case of the former, fix it. in the case of the latter, PUT ON A FREAKING RESPIRATOR!!!