the neutral axis

The concept has been mentioned in a few threads, so I figured I’d give it a permanent home. A good summary of the neutral axis can be found here (http://www.answers.com/topic/bending-3?hl=neutral&hl=axis).

“The internal forces and the cross-sectional stress distribution in a beam in bending.”

I’m not an engineer, so please correct me if I’m wrong, but that diagram and the line “These last two forces [the compression of the upper and tension along the lower] form a couple or moment as they are equal in magnitude and opposite in direction” implies to me that the general location of the naxis is relatively simple to control. Make the top skin stronger (or weaken the bottom) and you’ll move the naxis downward. Conversely, strengthen the bottom skin (or weaken the deck) and you’ll move the naxis upward.

With perimiter stringers limiting the amount of torsional flex, how much can the naxis move from side to side?

Is it better to have the naxis near to the deck (as close to the rider’s feet as possible), or closer to the bottom? The first would seem preferable to me, but the current trend towards making the bottom skin as flexible as possible would seem to do the opposite (if my theory in the paragraph above is in fact correct).

I was thinking about this some more today… what would happen if you were to actually slice your blank in half (hotwire a cut parallel to the rocker at whatever proportional distance between the skins is desired – kind of like the buns on a burger)? Seems like you’d still have all the advantages that a lightweight foam core offers while also effectively achieving a core capable of unlimited shear (? there would still be friction between the two surfaces, but would it be enough to cause anything?).

Losos,