Thickness for a fish

I bought a 6’2C blank and I cut out my outline it is going to be a 5’7" with a 21" wide point

I am 5’6" and weigh 120 lbs

What should the thickness be for this board?

Sean

I’m no expert by a long shot, but after months of thinking about, researching and shaping my own fish I’d guess the consensus for a fish of that length and width given your size would be somewhere between 2.5 and 2.75 inches. A few might say up to 3. I just finished a 5’11" by 21.75" and the foam thickness was right at about 2.75. Not sure what the glassed thickness is. Good luck.

I’m no expert on fish either, but my bud, Quick rep NorCal, at 180lbs, floats and rips on a 2.75" thick 5’6" x 22.5 fish.

Go much thinner if you’re 120 lbs. That’s 60lbs difference.

FYI, I rode that board and it floated my old (54years), out of shape (hadn’t surfed in 7 months easy), low skilled butt (155lbs.) and coming off a 7’9" x 22 funboard, caught waves about the same!

Thanks guys for your help

Yo Chano ,

I am 1.74 n weigh 70kg , am riding a 5’7" x 21" x 3" . I do have some problems duck diving Indo bullet train wave but when u make the drop is all MAGIC !

Cheers …

I don’t know your ability, but for your weight, I wouldn’t go any thicker than 2 1/2" and probably less.

It’s like getting a T-Shirt that will fit… sure the XXL will fit on you and you can wear it, but you’ll feel more comfortable in the T-Shirt that fits you properly.

A thick fish will float you (no question), but you’ll have more fun if you give the board thickness and foil that suits your weight and ability.

-Cam

I sent you a PM .

I’m in North county ,might be able to help with your project.

Ray

“Share your stoke”

got that from Chip fish !

I’m no expert, but my fish is 3" thick and it feel like a cork(a little longer than yours though). Don’t feel like it benefits any from the added volume. And I’m about 200lbs. I’m actually reshaping it, removing volume and cutting down the length.