Twin fin, extra plug creating drag ?

Hi guys my names Michael Triscari, i live in North West Australian and have just started a shaping company in the town i live, I’ve shaped and glassed around 50 boards, so I’m still a massive rookie and advice is greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Recently i shaped a 5’2, 20’, 21/2 twin fin for my partner. The board has me puzzled, on the rail it feels amazing but as soon as your going in a straight line the thing drags and you feel as if you need to place all your weight on the front and unusually high up the board to get it going. Originally i glassed fins in but felt like the fins were way to far back so i added a extra plug in front each of the top plugs so i could move the fin a couple inches forwards still using one of the existing plugs.

I’m wondering if the dormant fin plug sitting exactly where the back of the fin meets then board could be creating the drag ( breaking like feeling in straight line) . I wouldn’t think so but it feels as if the water pushes straight off the fin into the whole of the plug and creates drag. I’ve made a very similar shape to this board before but a 5’4 and it goes great no problems, no odd lumps in shape concave or rails what is going on hmm !?

Sounds more like a rocker issue to me with too much rocker. I dont make retro fishes so hopefully someone else will chime in, could also be a fin size/placement issue but sounds like rocker is main culprit to me.

Put some clear Cellophane packing tape over the rear plug’s hole, and go surfing. If the drag issue DOES NOT DISAPPEAR, then the problem is not the plug. Are your fins set at an extreme toe angle? Let us know what happens.

One more for rocker being the issue. Where is the apex of the curve? How much tal rocker are you putting into the board? Another thought is the you might have too much tow on the fins creating drag.