What to look for in a planer?

Hey all,

I’m completely new to shaping. I’ve only made one board with hand tools. I’ve looked at some power planers for a point down the road. I’ve seen the $900 Accurate and Skil planers. I cannot justify that price to myself. And I’ve also seen the non modified planer for $80 that cannot attach to a vacuum and does not open/close, but I figured why not buy something one time that I can grow into. But there are still price differences between the modified plastic planers. What makes one planer better than the next?

$200      https://shapersupply.com/collections/surfboard-planers/products/modified-makita-planer

$215      https://shapersupply.com/collections/surfboard-planers/products/modified-wen-surfboard-planer

$400      https://shapersupply.com/collections/surfboard-planers/products/modified-hitachi-surfboard-planer

$500      https://shapersupply.com/collections/surfboard-planers/products/modified-bosch-planer

If I was going to buy one those planers, I’d get the Makita. I have the modified Bosch and I like it, but I think the Makita will have better support over the long term. I wouldn’t buy the Wen planer.

I also use 2 other non modified very inexpensive wood planers. I learned with them so I have my techniques to make it work, but the on the fly adjustable shoe on a modified planer makes shaping much easier to get good results.

Buy something that will last because you’ll be training your body to use it and switching between different planers will require adjusting to a different a hand positioning and feel.

People tend to get super hyped on shaping for a few boards then it fades. It’s not easy. 

If you don’t know if you’ll like it or not or how much you do it - I’d get a wen. If your still at it after a year - sell it for 100 bucks and buy a real planer. 

Low investment to see if it’s for you or not. 

Down the line I’d opt for a nice skil or one of those Makita.