What to shape for somebody who refuses to ride a longboard on small days?

As the title says, my brother refuses to ride anything long. Not 9’, not 8’ or 7 or even 6 for small waves. So I guess I’m looking at a simmons? He has a 5’6 everyday hybrid thing I shaped for him that he likes, but I’ve never done a simmons type board before. 

Anyway, he’s small, 5’5, 120lbs, resonable fitness and skill. I want to do something that’ll actually be useful on small days, more so than his current board. He wants a quad. He’s fine with a 5’6 again, but with significantly more surface area and a bit more volume, lower rocker etc… all the usual small wave fixings of a longboard replacement.  We surf beach break. 

What blank do I even use? Greenlight has a simms blank I think. 5’10” RP from us blanks and take 5’6 from it then turn nose up a bit?

Happy Thanksgiving swaylocks. It’s flat here for now but hope you’re getting waves. 

A wide fish , happy thanksgiving to you , its flat here too .

Fishy mashup with a little curve in the rear quarter.  You take a 5-0 or 5-2 shape out of the middle of the 5-10 RP and don’t do anything to the rocker that’s left.   Run an 80s style flat deck with chined deck rail and a standard fish bottom  - flat with a barely-there chine at the rails to loosen it up.   Set the fins to the rear and cut the buttcrack shallow so he’ll have to surf it off the tail.  I put the arch bar from a tail pad ('cause that’s all you need) so far back that I had to offset the leash plug.  

Small keel with a canted leader in front provides plenty of drive and hold, even going backside.  But at your rider’s size you could also do a Speed Dialer combo.   

^^   That board was 5-5 in length and had ample float for 190# surfer.  

I prefer riding small boards in small waves, too.

I have/had retrofishes (lis style) , minisimmons and recently something that is similar to a Mandala Superchunk.