White accent piece used in the rail

Hello, I am new to this blog --- and look forward to hearing from the more experienced builders.   I have built two hollow wood surfboards -- and I think they turned out very good -- but I want to add a little more contrasting color to the deck design.     I have seen boards that have a white 3/16 inch  or so accent strip around the board.   It does not look like wood -- it is very white and consistant in color.  Does anyone know what can be used for this?    Thanks, Bill

Are you considering pinstriping the board?

Acrylic, board sanded to 180 or 220 where the strip goes, brush acrylic color on, allow to dry 24 hours, check for complete dryness, then just gloss over with resin.

Oh, tape it off before applying acrylic color.

Use 2 day cure blue contruction tape, so the glue doesn't stick to your board.

Also, white over dark brown is a tough cover, might need two coats.

Thanks, LeeD.    I am surprised that it is just paint.  I would have thought it was an inlaid piece of something like wood that could be glued in place, then sanded flush with the deck and then glassed.

On the two boards I made -- I wanted a dark accent and used a strip of walnut as the first laminate of the rail.  I thought that that was how the white was done, but I did not know what material to use.

Man, that board is a labor of love, with the accent on labor, and of course, love.
A good airbrusher can almost duplicate the patterns and color in about a week’s worth of labor, but yours is for real.
What’s it weigh? How long, wide, and thick?
Must have taken you a month to make that baby.

I think some guys have used sheet PVC in different colors in the rail strips to achieve a pinstripe effect. I used a 1/4" strip of cherry in mine to get a pinline type effect. The wood is paulownia and the other dark colored wood is walnut.