Why glass wooden box fins?

So this may be a dumb question, but I’ve previously foiled a wooden fin, which I glassed onto my longboard.

All perfect, was happy with the result.

I am looking at foiling some more fins for fun, but to go into fin boxes, and have been going all the way back to basics and asking myself why should it actually be glassed?

Is adding a wood waterproofer/treatment and a thick layer(s) of varnish not enough? Or does it HAVE to be glassed? (Obviously has to be glassed to be glassed onto a board, but I’m specifically checking for boxed fins).

Looking at old boats made out of wood, thats all they had and they sat in water for years and years, without much going wrong.

May seem like a dumb question, but thought I’d ask as I am new to this.

Also where can I find a template online for the thickness and height etc for the actual box connector top bit of the fin, with the screw etc?

Actually you do not need to glass them like you say.

A glassed fin just doesn’t require any maintenance (reapplying varnish, …) and makes them more durable.

But a nicely foiled wood fin without any fibreglass will surf great!

Here is an example of a board with just varnish (no glass), and a wooden fin that was not glassed-on.  Like hans said, varnish requires maintenance.  I built the board in 2007, and haven’t surfed it for a while because it needs to be re varnished.

Bloodwood with teak oil:

I removed it after every surf as I was afraid the wood might swell and bust open the plug.

Then I worried I was going to widen the box or strip the grub screw threads from constant removal/ insertion

Then I went back to a regular thruster set up

I made  a 7.5 inch Koa wood fin, unglassed in a FU box,  break during a turn.

Now I just Glass them all for the strength and lack of maintenance required

Thanks all for the advice.