Wide Planshape Adv/Disadv.

I am curious about this communities’ views on the advantages and disadvantages associated with wide planshapes. Basically, I am asking about the positive and negative trade offs associated with adding or removing width (all else being equal for the sake of discussion.) In particular, most of the modern performance boards in the racks at my local shop range from 18 1/4 to 18 3/4 while fat boy stuff seems to involve 19 +. Why does it seem that ‘better’ surfers crave narrower equipment? Is this more about psychology or physics?

If anyone posts anything using the words ‘it depends’ or ‘not enough information’ or the like, then I am going to beat my own head against my desk. Don’t make me do it.

I’m no expert but I find that wide boards (and I’m thinking 20"+) surf flatter, whereas a narrower board can be thrown over onto its edge easier (think burying the rail power turns). That’s why I haven’t enjoyed riding the short wide fishes that are all the rage these days (not that I’ve ridden a lot). They don’t seem to suit my style.

That said my new wood “fun gun” which mistakenly came out 22" wide (I had planned on just under 21") seems magic to me. It’s heavier than what I’m used to so maybe that helps me sink the rail.

My 2 cents.

For the same length and width, a wide planshape will have more planning area. This is an advantage in small and/or weak waves as paddling in will be easier and you’ll get speed out of nothing. BUT transition from one rail to the other will be somewhat harder so it’s true that this kind of boards have to be surfed “flatter”.

As wave power/size increases, so does speed and a wide planshape will quickly start to wobble and become very difficult to control, unless you are King Kong.

Short/wide/thick/flat will create speed out of (almost) nothing.

Long/narrow/thin/heavily-rockered will CONTROL already existing speed.