Yet another refurbish on this 9' beater

I posted this up in the board archive, and its listed as being made in 2014. Which isn’t all that old, but it was rode hard and put away wet, as they say. Its had its share of dings, been left out in the hot sun and the blank rippled and deformed, I gave up on it, then I got inspired and patched and repaired it. Rode it for a few more years, but eventually the blank kinda deformed a bit more over time, and finally I shaped a new daily driver, and put this one away. I pulled it out recently, and decided to give it one more last hurrah.

I based the shape on a glider that Ace posted here, and this board has been a favorite of mine for a few years. It started as a single, then I added quad fins, and liked it as a quad, but in later years I started riding it as a single again.

I patched all the dings, there were several, especially on the rails. The deck has been filled in and repaired where it had a deep foot well, but then it came back as I mashed it down again. So this time I routered out the deck to set a wood veneer band where my foot always seems to mash in the deck.

I added my signature leash attach through the stringer, which I should have done in the first place. I usually do this with a wood tail block, but wanted to try it with a foam tail, so this is my first time like this.

The bottom really got rippled in the sun, and has never been the same. So I sanded it back down to shape, hopefully it is done deforming.

The pics are in my phone. I’m on computer here, but will try to add pics from my phone.

I block sanded the bottom pretty intensely with a large sanding block and 60 grit sandpaper. I wanted to take it down to the foam in several places, since I will be re-glassing the bottom and the rails with 4 oz cloth.

I don’t think I can hide all the damage, so I’m gonna try to disguise it with a color splash type tint when I glass the bottom / rails. The deck is ok, other than adding the band of wood.