Anyone Read this on Surfermag.com?

http://surfermag.com/features/onlineexclusives/vacuum-pack-surfboards-1-23-08/

thanks for pointing that out. Despite the ‘no one has ever done this before’ emphasis of the writer, it was a nice piece. As a front yard builder, I wish I could get away without the hotcoat. For anyone in production, it seems like this would be something to try to figure out. The article sounds like a lot of the stuff Bert used to talk about, but without the sandwich.

Pat

I will go check the archives, but it seems that Greg Loehr experimented with this many years ago and decided is was not the best way to go if you were not using a sandwich construction. I could be wrong though.

greayt pitch

key word enviro friendly

goes real far

pro endorsement

yes thats good

catch phrase jump up on

makes it a signed number in the equation

with price and durablitee

we have a market revolution…

so whats the factsof the process?

framed visquene vac chamber?

as to make it reuseable?

and wrinkle free surface finish?

the only flaw is lack of information

although I conceptualized the

frames pretty easy.

alas alac of a nail and a shoe was lost… where’s my other chuck ?

…ambrose…

hey pat; if the photos of the boards in bags are a real representation of what these guys are doing, them I’m going to hedge a bet that the “hotcoat” step is actually a chemical treatment of the lam to prep the surface for good adhesion, followed by a spray application of a clear coat. There’s no way they’re getting a smooth surface out of those bags…

nothin there that the average homebuilder can’t do with a couple of sheets of polyethylene or mylar, a scale, a roller, some cloth, some epoxy and a vac bag…

no real denying though; high fiber content = good; reduced resin consumption = lower production costs and higher quality/durability product.

“Shriveled longboards”?

(I’m not even gonna go there…)

Quote:

“Shriveled longboards”?

(I’m not even gonna go there…)

Too funny