Everyone hates mid length boards - surfing is quantum

Strange - it seems that fish are ok, shortboards are cool - longboards too…

BUT

nobody wants a mid - length board …“it doesn’t fit the wave”, “too long and too short - a bad comprimise”…

So - Is this right? Can surfboards only be 5’ 5" to 7’ and then 9’ to 11" - is there a no man’s land ?

OR

Do you have evidence/opinions/theory to the contrary?

Although I have been riding longboards for 6 or 7 years now, I still like boards in the 7’-2" to 8’ range. They can be fun boards, or mini-longboards as long as the are shaped right they should ride right.

The following is a repost of mine from the One Board Quiver thread. I’ve had good success with boards in the 7’8" to 8’2" range and don’t subscribe to the idea that they won’t fit into the pocket. Boloney! or Bologna, take your pick.

“The best all around, one board quiver that I’ve had was a 7’8” double ender, w/glass on tri-fin setup made by Pat Ryan at ET Surfboards in Hermosa Bch. It paddled like a dream, I could ride waist high beach breaks and the next morning DOH reefs. I honestly have never had such a comfortable board to ride in such a wide variety of conditions. I’m stoked that I took the time to make a template and dimensions while I still had it. I’ve since made a 7’ version with a 2 +1 setup that has a very similar feel, not the same mind you, but nonetheless very similar and incredibly fun."

BTW, I made an 8’ single fin version for my brother in law (who is a very good short boarder) and he loves it. In the future I’d make it a tri or a quad just to kick things up a notch.

I’ve made a whole lot of boards that are 7’2", 7’4", 7’6", 7’10", 8’0", 8’2", 8’4", 8’6", etc etc. They all work great.

So, in my opinion it’s only 7 and 8 foot boards plus an odd number of inches that don’t work.