Glassing question...

Folks -I’m still learning how to glass, but I learned how to tape + mask off the board on opposite side with painters paper…also, when glassing - I just pour to soak the resin in and squeegee out as much resin as possible w out causing air bubbles off flats and laps. My question is: how much catalyst to use for ample time(for newbie glasser) for a quart of resin to provide a good impact resistance, and not be a brick weight wise? And if I do two layers would I do both at same time? Sorry guys im not a glasser! Also, if you have any tips, or corrections do tell me. Also, is a quart enough resin to do two layers on deck?

The plan is to have a relatively strong but light board to surf overhead conditions, and be solid nuff to hold my own.

I also want ‘resin art’, or swirls of resin colors - only on bottom bcuz I want to airbrush the deck. The plan is copying a mango (green on bottom, feint yellow/0range/red) on deck…pinlines I think will be dark green? I might go just mango green w swirls and call it done? So please if you answer my post don’t steer me to a link. I am requesting tips on–just doing It ! Tia - Jim

http://vimeo.com/9063662

ty everysurfer ! I could use all the tips possible as I plan to do a good job. Hope the vid has catalyst info for a newb glasser? Puters a bit slow right now…I got ten cc’s for a quart ratio of cat/resin, but if I add more cat would it lighten board sum? I was thinking about upping cat a bit to lighten it sum also…any tips here would be awsum ! I’m going to be surfing sum sizey waves, and trying to figure out a strong/light setup.thanks man. -Jim

“but if I add more cat would it lighten board sum?”

No.  Use recommended catalyst amounts… maybe a little bit LESS.  You don’t want a ‘hot batch’ kicking off  before you’ve even tucked your laps.  All the thought and work you put in to the shape is down the drain if your resin kicks off and leaves you with lumps, bumps and bubbles.