Hyped as the next “game changer”

You be the judge.

http://quobbafins.com/technical/

i it just me or is there no audio?

its not just you?

Hmmm. Just glanced at the “technical” page on their website.
Diagram and explanation defies my understanding of fluid dynamics and universally accepted laws of physics, but hey I’m not an engineer.
$230 AUD ($178 US) for a set of magical molded plastic fins (thruster set). Ahh, I think I’d rather spend less for a set of Griffins in G10. But maybe that’s just me.

From their webpage:
“As a result ‘low pressure in front of the fin’ draws the surfboard strongly forward, effectively increasing speed.”
You do not have to be an engineer to know the leading edge of any surface moving through a fluid creates pressure.

I recall Surffoils posted some information from an old thread by some of the technical fin masters. They said approximately the first 20 mm of water flow at the bottom of the board, around the base of the fin, is turbulent. Turbulent flow over the bottom of the board increases as speed increases. It seems the special base of the Quobba fin would be surrounded by turbulent water flow. Just sayin’…

BTW they allude to the “fastest fish in the ocean.” That would be the sailfish @ 68 mph. I am not seeing the similarity.

That image hurts my eyes.

seems like they invented a fin that renders paddling obsolete.

I read the article and watched the video (no sound here either)… I was surprised at how much they claim to have spent for each prototype. I’ve seen a lot of ‘revolutionary’ ideas come and go. Don’t really know enough about theory to say if it works or not but the explanation given didn’t ‘sink in’ for me. I suppose we’ll find out in 5-10 years if it panned out for them.

So somehow the fins manipulate the upstream water that they haven’t yet interacted with, creating an area of low pressure that practically pulls the board through it. That’s amazing stuff.
Oh how I would love for it to be true . . .

Interesting.