Kwik Kick Tips and Tricks....Problems with laps and heavy lams?

It’s been a long time since I’ve been frustrated enough to have to
start a thread, but kwik kick has kwikly kicked my…well you get the
idea.

Let me start off by saying this is NOT going to be
another thread with someone trying to bash Greg, or RR. I’ve just been
thru every thread on the topic, and I seem to be the only one having
issues, so I figured maybe some of the sways crew can set me straight,
and maybe this can turn into a KK tips and tricks type thread.

As
a little background, I’ve been using RR fast for a least 5 years or so,
and consider myself a pretty good glasser. I have done close to 75
boards in that time, and I’m generally confident enough where I would
laminate multiple shortboards at a time, or a triple layer deck when
it’s 95 degrees here in FL on a longboard with no issues.

So with everyone so excited about KK,
I  decided to give it a go, and my results have been inconsistent to
say the least.   The problem that I seem to be having is getting
everything wet out in time, because once this stuff starts to thicken
up it just doesn’t wet out well. It seems like you have about 5 minutes
to wet out everything.

My technique is basically pouring
stripes down the length of the board following with my spreader.  All
my kk is on the deck within 30 seconds of finishing mixing. The flats
are covered(not completely wet out, but covered)within about 2 minutes.
Then I go to work on my laps. I wet out laps using my spreader and my
other hand behind the lap, a la Sammy, that way no waste on the floor.
At this point I’m  5 to 10 minutes in and the kk has gone gooey. So I
begin to tuck my laps and I notice that I still have dry spots on my
laps. with fast, where you can cover the laps on one side and by the
time you get back around to tuck them the resin has soaked in and
completely wet out the cloth. It seems with the KK, it just doesn’t