Looking for some help on my first shape... small wave shortboard

Hello everyone,

So after much research I have decided to shape and glass my first board.  Im still a newb when it comes to the shaping world, so any help is appreciated.   I am 6’ tall and 180 lbs and will be surfing with a 4/3 and booties.   Im looking for a board that it going to perform well in the small stuff we surf most of the time.   I wanna go almost as short as I can, so I made this one a 5’6.  I want it to be skatey, fast, and hopefully turn and punt. My inspiration for this shape is the santa cruz g deck and rusty dwart, but with a wide squash tail.   I was thinking a single concave, or some vee out of the tail. Id also consider doing steps in the rails or a step deck to get a thinner rail.  Ill probably be riding this on mostly a beach break near me that is pretty punchy most of the time.   

here is what I came up with after downloading aku shaper and messing around for a day.  tell me what you think.    Keep in mind that this will be my first shape, so hopefully nothing too complicated for a first time shaper.

First board. Keep it simple (no step-rails, wings, etc.).

Minor modifications I would suggest (not that I’m an expert, but I’ve made boards similar to that and I’m about the same size as you):

*Reduce tail rocker to 2" or slightly less. Need to flatten overall rocker if you want it to be fast/glide.

*5’6" is pretty short for a six foot guy. Don’t be afraid to go a couple inches longer.

*Looks pretty wide for a 5’6".  You have a lot of outline curve which would reduce drive when on rail and send the board straight up the face. (Kind of like a deep sidecut on a snowboard). I would keep the same width but go more like 5’8" to 5’10" to flatten the outline curve a bit. It should still be plenty skatey.