Need advice How to Shape My Initial Shortboard

Hi everyone,

I am new to the art of surfboard shaping and I might appreciate some advice from this experienced group. I recently decided to take on the challenge of shaping my own shortboard. I have some basic woodworking skill but this is my first time working on a surfboard.

I have a question :point_right:
What is a good blank to start with when constructing a shortboard and What dimensions & materials should I look for?
what are the best materials for glassing the board, and where can I source them?

I am so excited to get started on this endeavor. I would greatly appreciate any counsel, pointers or resources you can provide.

I have been reading through some of the shaping lessons on Greenlight Surf Supply in order to get further advice and also i check this = Looking for some help on my first shapeservicenow but not found solution.

Thank you for help :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hello,
I am not a professional shaper and maybe somethings i will say are very wrong, but this is my process.
I am not including lamination here.
Not very detailed but follows a step by step aproach, you can check every step on youtube and can get tables of measurements from greenlight

Pu blanks can be laminated with epoxy or pe resin
Eps blanks can only be laminated with epoxy resin
Most common easy to work cheap material is fiberglass cloth, but there are alternatives.

Most blanks come with natural rocker and a bit concave (using this kind of blank is a huge help)

Shaping the blank: (need electric planer, sand blocks,mini planer for stringer, scissor calipers for thickness, ruler, shaper square, handsaw and a pencil) not all essencial but they help, you can not use some and replace some.

1-download outline template (blending curves or shape3dx wharehouse are my go to places) print them in thicker paper or glue it to plywood 3 mil and cut the template.
2- consider the tail and nose rocker you will be wanting in your board.