Milaukee Polishers

On foam EZ it says the milaukee 5540 is the industry standard for sanders. Does anyone use a cheaper model such as the 5460? The difference between the two as far as i can tell is 2800 rpm vs 1750 rpm? What do any of you pros use? Anyone else have different prefences? Thanks

isnt a millwalkie polisher a guy with a beer and a hot dog after work?

...ambrose...

LOL

i can’t stop…

ambrose, what a therapy

i’m no pro, but i use a cheap-ass Harbor Freight sander/polisher that i bought for $30 on the recommendation of several people here on Swaylocks. the Milwaukee is NOT worth the money.

yes, i need to put a large sign on my computer that says “check archive’s before asking stupid question”

i am now aware of the harbor freight model. What kind of pads do you use for that model? Can you still order “power pads” or do you have to use a different brand? Thanks

Quote:

i am now aware of the harbor freight model. What kind of pads do you use for that model? Can you still order “power pads” or do you have to use a different brand? Thanks

now’s the time to take a look at that sign ya just made :slight_smile:

power pads will work just fine…and if you don’t want to spend $30 or $40 or whatever they charge for power pads, you can make your own. and yes…there’s a thread all about how to do it.

damn straight soulstice harbor freight is awesome and my 30 dollar special has worked for me for quite some time. unless you are sanding boards everyday i wouldnt spend 200 dollars for a milwaukee.

If you guys are worried about the working conditions of the folks making pop-outs for Surftech in Thailand, you’d just love the working conditions of the poor saps making the tools you buy at Harbor Freight!

Are milwaulkee tools made in china now too? I hate supporting and perpetuating that damn totalitarian regime with my hard earned money…