Not just another fin system thread.

I’ll be experimenting with fin count and positioning with my upcomming board, so I’m looking for a fin system that allows me a little freedom.

My questions are~

1.) After reading a thread here, I saw that most people reccommend Probox or Lokbox. I have no experience with Probox–where can I find fins for the system?

2.) Does having that much adjustability really make a difference?

3.) Should I even bother with fin boxes and just do a glass-on setup?

THANKS!

I use probox.  I get my fins shopping on internet - foam e-z or greenlight are two that come to mind.  I like removable fins for transport, and for using the same fins on different boards.

I wish there were a fin system out there that allowed you to freely adjust toe and cant as well as the ability to move it forward or backwards like the locbox/probox…

I always go with FCS just because of the variety of fins and the ease to obtain them. The figure-8 style is way better than the x2 system since it’s glass on and doesn’t need to be sunk into the deck. Also, the angle is built into the plugs so its a bit easier to set your cant accurately

…your answer is: 4WFS

1. any surfshop in the world. Probox is made to use FCS fins.

2. YES! Try it and you will see.

3. I like boxes. This is a personal preference thing though.

I like Probox but 4WFS looks like a good option too although I’ve never used them.

The main differences that I can see between Probox and 4WFS are:

• Probox uses FCS fins that are available everywhere with the largest selection of templates and foils.

• 4WFS offers more / different adjustability and an underglass install.