Pheonix project

Hi All;

Disclosure; This is my first build other than a chambered wood short board that is Stiiiillllllll in progress. I was given a ~ 5’6" short board with a bad glass job and a significant twist down the long axis. I’ve removed to old shell, straightened it out, cut the new plan-shape, foiled the rocker, and just have to finish sand before art work and all that follows. My questions to you (for now): 1) I’m considering a sun cure resin. I’d like to do it outside, but live in the farmlands so plowed fields and winds will need to be taken into consideration. Once the resin kicks, how long before I can bring it back inside? 2) Doing cut laps. Is there any adverse effect from using blue painters tape to mask?

I’ve collected images along the way and will post at a later date. Much mahalo to all.

Sun Cure or UV Poly resin is nothing more than Polyester Laminating resin with UV powder added. It can be kicked in the sunlight or by using artificial light. UV Resin can also be used with MEK catalyst. You cannot laminate in UV light. The lay up is done inside and then the Blank is walked outside into sunlight or put in a UV box. It is not advisable to do cut laps with UV resin. The board can be brought back inside as soon as the laminate has hardened.

Images from the process immediately following removal of fiberglass through rough shaping. The channels were placed where the divots from the glassed in fins were.

OK, well that looks like a project - coming along nicely. Is it still 5-6? Seems like a little thing, you gonna be able to ride it, or is it for a grom? Gonna be a tough glassing project with those channels. Keep the pics a coming!

Hi Huck; It’s for the grands. I lopped off the swallow tail and accidentally broke the nose at the get go of roughing it in. Dims are 5’0" x 13 x 18.5 x 15. Thinking of a twinzer or fall back onto a tri set up.