Q for dale - re:matress impotence

Dale, i took a 1980’s mat out for a surf in small surf the other day. its one of those ones with handles and fins. the damn thing folded up whenever i tried to catch a wave. my question is do dale solomonsons mats fold like this or do they inflate to a higher more suitable pressure when erect.

Eddie I know it’s a question for Dale, but I have one of his mats and it doesn’t do that at all. In fact, just like they say, NeuMatics seem to work better somewhere near the 75% inflation level, and some guys go much lower. The problem you had with the old one may come from it’s length or internal tube structure.

eddie, The surfmats Ive been building for many years are designed to be used with low pressure/volume, as Nels said. As a point of reference, I recommend that the mat be initially inflated until it can be easily folded in the center to 90 degrees. It must be remembered that YOU are a critical part of its suspension system, riding with chest and head down low on the surfmat... in many ways, rider posture and handling are the exact opposite of paipos, bodyboards or bellyboards. A mat simply will not work properly if you try to use it like other prone surf craft. Theyre completely different. The most basic level of competancy can often be acheived in a few hours, or more commonly, a few days. It helps if the surfer has some experience with bodysurfing. Of course all that is contingient upon the waves… length of rides, size of surf, how crowded, etc. Sloppy conditions are fine, as good mats will go even faster over chop. Short, heaving dumpers are the wrong kind of wave in which to appreciate a good mat. Because a surfmats rocker, rails, template, thickness and buoyancy are variable, much of a novices learning process is actually spent UN-learning! Ironically, this is especially true for experienced surfers who have spent most of their time using rigid, hard, finned, conventional equipment. The best mat surfers in the world prefer the